Legal Framework
From The Report: Abu Dhabi 2019
View in Online Reader

Founded in December 1971 as a federation between six of its seven constituent entities, the UAE includes the emirates of Abu Dhabi (the capital city), Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Fujairah and Umm Al Quwain. The emirate of Ras Al Khaimah joined the federation the following year. The UAE is governed by the UAE Constitution, which permits each emirate to have its own legislative body and judicial authority. Accordingly, there are both federal courts and local courts in each individual emirate that uphold the constitution. Abu Dhabi courts apply UAE federal law, as well as the emirate’s unique legal framework.